SMRT 22nd Annual Meeting ~ 20-21 April 2013
“Changing the World through MR Education and Innovation”

Invitation to the SMRT 22nd Annual Meeting

The Program and Education Committees would like to invite MR technologists/radiographers, professionals and students from around the world to attend the 22nd Annual Meeting of the Section for Magnetic Resonance Technologists, to be held on 20-21 of April 2013, in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA. Once again, the SMRT will work diligently to provide quality educational opportunities for MR professionals and students worldwide, with the goal of further advancing the field of MR.

The Annual Meeting will begin Friday evening, 19 April 2013, with the Poster Presentation Reception. In addition to the Friday evening presentations, there will be Proffered Paper presentations on 20 and 21 April 2013. We encourage technologists and radiographers to share their work through the submission of abstracts for oral or poster presentation. In addition, we encourage MR students to share their work through the submission of abstracts for the John A. Koveleski (JAK) Award for Professional Development. With this award, students will compete internationally, and the winner will earn a US $150 monetary award, a 3-year membership in the SMRT, and the honor of participating as a member of the SMRT Subcommittee for Professional Development for one year. All abstract submissions, either clinical practice focus, research focus, or JAK Award, will be accepted until 17 December, 2012. Online abstract submission instructions and applications will be available on the SMRT website:, and JAK Award instructions will be available here:

The forums of this year’s meeting were selected based on feedback from previous meetings and will include a wide range of MR imaging topics, such as the history and future of MR, cardiovascular MR, breast MR, MR physics and technology, musculoskeletal MR, pediatric MR, body MR and recent innovations in the MR world. Further, we will have an exciting array of world-renowned speakers, including Brian Hargreaves, Scott Reeder, Richard Ehman, Bill Faulkner, Candi Roth, Michael Kean, Paul Bottomley, and Vivian Lee. On Sunday, 21 April, the Presentation of Awards will take place. All SMRT Awards are presented during this time and all are encouraged to attend in support of those technologists and radiographers who have participated in fulfilling the SMRT’s commitment to excellence in MR education.

Finally, please note the ISMRM/SMRT Joint Forum will be held Monday, 22 April 2013. Your SMRT meeting registration includes this forum which is a collaboration of energy and talent between the SMRT and ISMRM. This year the Joint Forum topic is the always pertinent and ever-changing MR Safety. Please be sure to extend your stay and attend this exciting Joint Forum.

The SMRT was established to provide superior educational opportunities for MR technologists/radiographers, as well as a forum for collaboration, and the 2013 Annual Meeting is dedicated to continuing this tradition. On behalf of the 2013 Program and Education Committees, we are pleased to invite you to the beautiful state of Utah in the United States of America for the 22nd Annual SMRT Meeting. We sincerely hope you join us in changing the world through MR education and innovation.

2013 Program Chair:
Barry Southers, M.Ed, R.T.(R)(MR)
2013 Education Chair:
Rosemary Fisher, R.T.(R)(CT)(MR)