ISMRM Workshops: Learn, Share Research & Network

ISMRM-PARENCHIMA Workshop on

Kidney MRI Biomarkers: The Route to Clinical Adoption

10-12 September 2021 • Philadelphia, PA, USA, and Lisbon, Portugal

Preliminary Program

Registration & Setup - Thursday, 09 September 2021

15:00 UTC
16:00 WEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available (Lisbon)

20:30 UTC
16:00 EDT

Registration & Speaker Upload Available (Philadelphia)

Day 1 - Friday, 10 September 2021

11:30 UTC
07:30 EDT
12:30 WEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available
Coffee & Light Breakfast

Session 1 (USA & Portugal): Kidney Disease & Imaging Biomarkers: Demand & How to Address It

Moderators: Lilach O. Lerman, M.D., Ph.D. & Menno Prujim, M.D., Ph.D.

12:30 UTC
08:30 EDT
13:30 WEST

Renal Physiology in Health & Disease

Fredrik Palm, Ph.D.
Uppsala University
Uppsala, Sweden

13:00 UTC
09:00 EDT
14:00 WEST

Biomarkers & Precision Medicine in Kidney Imaging

Matthias Kretzler, M.D.
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI, USA

13:30 UTC
09:30 EDT
14:30 WEST

Biomarkers in Renal Medicine: The Nephrologist’s Needs

LaTonya J. Hickson, M.D.
Mayo Clinic
Jacksonville, FL, USA

14:00 UTC
10:00 EDT
15:00 WEST

Imaging Organ Interactions: Multimorbidity, Cardiorenal, Hepatorenal

Patrick Mark, M.B.Ch.B., Ph.D.
University of Glasgow
Glasgow, Scotland, UK

14:30 UTC
10:30 EDT
15:30 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

15:00 UTC
11:00 EDT
16:00 WEST

What Can MRI Provide: Function, Structure & Morphology

Nicolas Grenier, M.D.
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Bordeaux
Bordeaux, France

15:30 UTC
11:30 EDT
16:30 WEST

The Future of MRI

Daniel K. Sodickson, M.D., Ph.D.
New York University Langone Health
New York, NY, USA

16:00 UTC
12:00 EDT
17:00 WEST

Kidney Imaging: The NIDDK Perspective

Daniel Gossett, Ph.D.
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Bethesda, MD, USA

16:30 UTC
12:30 EDT
17:30 WEST

Lunch & Speaker Upload Available

Session 2 (USA ONLY): The Path for Renal MRI Research Development & Dissemination: From Idea to Validation

Moderator: Octavia Bane, Ph.D.

18:00 UTC
14:00 EDT
19:00 WEST

New Investigators Workshop: Study Initiation, Data Collection, Quality Control

Eric E. Sigmund, Ph.D.
New York University Langone Health
New York, NY, USA

18:30 UTC
14:30 EDT
19:30 WEST

Quantitative MRI of the Kidney: Rationale & Challenges

Pottumarthi V. Prasad, Ph.D.
Northshore University Health System
Evanston, IL, USA

19:00 UTC
15:00 EDT
20:00 WEST

Gadolinium-Based Functional Imaging: MR Urography

Hansel J. Otero, M.D.
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA, USA

19:30 UTC
15:30 EDT
20:30 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

20:00 UTC
16:00 EDT
21:00 WEST

New Investigators Workshop: How Do I Do It: Pilots, Single Site Study & Respective Funding

T.B.A.

20:30 UTC
16:30 EDT
21:30 WEST

CEST MRI for Monitoring Kidney Disease

Michael T. McMahon, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD, USA

Proffered Papers - Oral Session

20:50 UTC
16:50 EDT
21:50 WEST

Abstract 1

T.B.A.

21:00 UTC
17:00 EDT
22:00 WEST

Abstract 2

T.B.A.

21:10 UTC
17:10 EDT
12:10 WEST

Abstract 3

T.B.A.

21:20 UTC
17:20 EDT
22:20 WEST

Abstract 4

T.B.A.

21:30 UTC
17:30 EDT
22:30 WEST

Cocktail Hour/Meet the Mentors

22:30 UTC
18:30 EDT
23:30 WEST

Adjourn

Day 2 - Saturday, 11 September 2021

11:30 UTC
07:30 EDT
12:30 WEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available

Session 3 (Portugal ONLY): PARENCHIMA-Sponsored Sessions

Moderators: Anna Caroli, Ph.D., Steven Sourbron, Ph.D. & Marcos Wolf, M.D.

08:00 UTC
04:00 EDT
09:00 WEST

Looking Back: Achievements of PARENCHIMA

  • Management Committee report
  • Working Group summaries

T.B.A.

09:15 UTC
05:15 EDT
10:15 WEST

Looking Forward: New Pan-European Collaborations

  • Pitches of project proposals under development
  • Open discussion on each project

T.B.A.

10:30 UTC
06:30 EDT
11:30 WEST

Lunchtime ECR Poster Sessions

  • Power-pitch presentations of ECR
  • Walk-through poster session over lunch

T.B.A.

Session 4 (USA & Portugal): Novel Techniques in Renal MRI: Improving Specificity & Accelerating Impact

Moderators: Alexandra Ljimani, M.D. & Eric E. Sigmund, Ph.D.

12:30 UTC
08:30 EDT
13:30 WEST

Non-Proton MRI Including Sodium, Fluorine & Potassium

Thoralf Niendorf, Ph.D.
Max-Delbrueck Center for Molecular Medicine
Berlin, Germany

13:00 UTC
09:00 EDT
14:00 WEST

Drilling Down to the Single Nephron

Jennifer R. Charlton, M.D.
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA, USA

13:30 UTC
09:30 EDT
14:30 WEST

Molecular MRI for Detection of Fibrosis: Current State

Peter Boor, M.D., Ph.D.
RWTH Aachen University
Aachen, Germany

14:00 UTC
10:00 EDT
15:00 WEST

Frontiers of Kidney MRI: Advanced Variants of DWI, DCE, BOLD, T2

Julia Stabinska, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD, USA

14:30 UTC
10:30 EDT
15:30 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

15:00 UTC
11:00 EDT
16:00 WEST

New MRI Methods for Dynamic Contrast-Enhanced Imaging of the Kidneys

Hersh Chandarana, M.D.
New York University Langone Medical Center
New York, NY, USA

15:30 UTC
11:30 EDT
16:30 WEST

AI/Deep Learning for Kidney Segmentation: Potential Applications & Clinical Impact

Maatje D.A. Van Gastel, Ph.D.
University of Groningen
Groningen, The Netherlands

16:00 UTC
12:00 EDT
17:00 WEST

Motion Management in the Kidney: Direct & AI Tools

Simon Warfield, Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA, USA

16:30 UTC
12:30 EDT
17:30 WEST

Lunch & Speaker Upload Available

Session 5 (USA ONLY): How Do I Do It: Image Post-Processing & Getting Meaningful Numbers

Moderators: Pottumarthi V. Prasad, Ph.D. & Suraj D. Serai, Ph.D.

18:00 UTC
14:00 EDT
19:00 WEST

Multiparametric Post-Processing in Renal MRI: Diffusion, Perfusion, T1, T1Rho Mapping

Sara Lewis, M.D.
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY, USA

18:30 UTC
14:30 EDT
19:30 WEST

Demo of pMRI Post-Processing Toolbox

Dmitry Khrichenko, B.Sc.
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA, USA

19:00 UTC
15:00 EDT
20:00 WEST

Overcoming DCE-MRI Challenges Using FireVoxel Software

Henry Rusinek, Ph.D.
New York University
New York, NY, USA

19:15 UTC
15:15 EDT
20:15 WEST

MR Elastography of the Kidney

Richard L. Ehman, M.D.
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN, USA

19:45 UTC
15:45 EDT
20:45 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

20:15 UTC
16:15 EDT
21:15 WEST

TLCO BOLD MRI

Lu-Ping Li, Ph.D.
University of Chicago
Evanston, IL, USA

20:30 UTC
16:30 EDT
21:30 WEST

Non-Contrast Perfusion Imaging: Kidney ASL

Ananth J. Madhuranthakam, Ph.D.
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX, USA

20:45 UTC
16:45 EDT
21:45 WEST

Kidney MR Fingerprinting

Chris A. Flask, Ph.D.
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH, USA

Proffered Papers - Oral Session

21:00 UTC
17:00 EDT
22:00 WEST

Abstract 5

T.B.A.

21:10 UTC
17:10 EDT
22:10 WEST

Abstract 6

T.B.A.

21:20 UTC
17:20 EDT
22:20 WEST

Abstract 7

T.B.A.

21:30 UTC
17:30 EDT
22:30 WEST

Cocktail Hour & Poster Presentations

22:30 UTC
18:30 EDT
23:30 WEST

Adjourn

Day 3 - Sunday, 12 September 2021

11:30 UTC
07:30 EDT
12:30 WEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available

Session 6 (Portugal ONLY): Kidney Disease: From the Clinic to MRI & Back

Moderators: T.B.A.

07:30 UTC
03:30 EDT
08:30 WEST

How to Measure GFR with MRI in 2021

Per Eckerbom, M.D., Ph.D.
Uppsala University
Uppsala, Sweden

08:00 UTC
04:00 EDT
09:00 WEST

CKD: Diagnosis & Outcome Prediction with MRI

Sophie de Seigneux, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Geneva
Geneva, Switzerland

08:30 UTC
04:30 EDT
09:30 WEST

ADPKD: Clinical Experiences & Future Directions

Florian Siedek, M.D.
University of Cologne
Köln, Germany

09:00 UTC
05:00 EDT
10:00 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

09:30 UTC
05:30 EDT
10:30 WEST

What Is the Role of MRI Once the Kidneys Have Failed?

Christoph Kopp, M.D.
Friedrich-Alexander-University
Erlangen, Germany

10:00 UTC
6:00 EDT
11:00 WEST

Renal MRI: State-of-the-Art Applications & Future Development: Industry Point of View

Andreas Pohlmann, Ph.D.
Siemens Healthineers
Berlin, Germany

Rolf F. Schulte, Ph.D.
GE Healthcare
Munich, Germany

Matthew Clemence, Ph.D.
Philips Healthcare
Nottingham, UK

10:30 UTC
06:30 EDT
11:30 WEST

Power Pitch Session

Session 7 (USA & Portugal): Kidney Imaging Biomarkers in Clinical Trials: Pathways to Standardization & Regulatory Approval

Moderators: T.B.A.

12:30 UTC
08:30 EDT
13:30 WEST

Kidney MRI in US Clinical Studies (COMBINE, Et al.)

Anand Srivastava, M.D., MPH
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL, USA

13:00 UTC
09:00 EDT
14:00 WEST

Kidney MRI in UK & EU Clinical Studies (AFiRM, iBEAt, Etc.)

Nicholas Selby, M.D.
University of Nottingham
Nottingham, UK

13:30 UTC
09:30 EDT
14:30 WEST

Kidney MRI in Australian Clinical Trials (Australasian Kidney Trials Network [AKTN], University of Queensland, Etc.)

Ruth P. Lim, M.B.B.S., DMedSc, FRANZCR
Austin Health
Heidelberg, VIC, Australia

14:00 UTC
10:00 EDT
15:00 WEST

Kidney MRI Standardization: Challenges & Achievements

Anneloes de Boer, M.Sc.
University Medical Centre Utrecht
Utrecht, The Netherlands

14:30 UTC
10:30 EDT
15:30 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

15:00 UTC
11:00 EDT
16:00 WEST

TKV as a Model for Regulatory Qualification of an Imaging Biomarker

Ronald Perrone, M.D.
Tufts Medical Center
Boston, MA, USA

15:30 UTC
11:30 EDT
16:30 WEST

Kidney MRI in Contract Research Organisations

Iris Friedli, Ph.D.
Antaros Medical
Uppsala, Sweden

16:00 UTC
12:00 EDT
17:00 WEST

Imaging Biomarkers in Drug Development

Alexander J.S. de Crespigny, Ph.D.
Genentech
South San Francisco, CA, USA

Matthew D. Robson, Ph.D.
Perspectum Diagnostics Ltd.
Oxford, UK

16:30 UTC
12:30 EDT
17:30 WEST

Recap/Closing Remarks, Session Summaries (including national/international networks & future outlook for MRI biomarkers in clinical trials & drug development)

Organizing Committee

17:30 UTC
13:30 EDT
18:30 WEST

Adjournment & Boxed Lunches

Back Questions? Contact us at info@ismrm.org.

The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.