ISMRM Workshops: Learn, Share Research & Network

ISMRM Workshop on

Magnetic Resonance Elastography

26-27 August 2021 • Berlin, Germany

Call for Abstracts & Stipend Applications
Coming Soon

Organizers

Chair:
Jing Guo, Ph.D.

Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Registration & Travel

Registration - Coming Soon
Early Registration Deadline T.B.A.

Travel Information Coming Soon

Supporters & Declarations

Faculty declarations will be available approx. 2 weeks before workshop start.

Overview & Program

Workshop Overview

This workshop will focus on methods, applications, and future perspectives of magnetic resonance elastography (MRE). MRE is of increasing relevance in medical diagnostics as it permits quantitative imaging of the viscoelastic properties of soft tissues. This workshop addresses both clinical applications and recent technical developments in MRE. Considering the growing interest in the clinical application of MRE, the workshop will discuss the potential and current role of MRE in multiparametric MRI towards the objectified characterization of pathobiological processes underlying many diseases including chronic liver and kidney diseases, tumors, and neurological disorders.

Moreover, the workshop offers insight into the multiscale nature of in-vivo viscoelastic properties of soft tissues. To this end, structural elements and architectural properties that are potentially linked with MRE parameters will be identified and discussed from their biological and histopathological relevance.

Therefore, this workshop has special sessions in multiscale MRE covering MRE in patients, animal models, and tissue samples. This format aims to present concepts and practical approaches of various MRE modalities across field strengths and image resolutions and to initiate a lively knowledge exchange among scientists working in overlapping areas of biomechanics and quantitative diagnostic imaging.

The 2-day workshop combines expert talks, contributions from early career scientists, and poster presentations to foster discussions and the scientific exchange in MRE. There will be a session dedicated to the “travelling MRE phantom,” which has been investigated by many MRE groups worldwide.

Target Audience: This workshop invites participants with interest in medical applications and basic research of MRE. Although most of the sessions will require a basic understanding of MRE or tissue biomechanics, there will be a basic introductory course as well as posters on the principles of MRE. The target audience of the workshop is MR physicists, clinicians with interest in MRE, radiologists, biomedical engineers as well as biologists whose research interest lies in the area of tissue biomechanics.

Educational Objectives

Upon completion of this activity, participants should be able to:

  • Describe the value of MRE in clinical routine and basic research;
  • Describe the current developments of MRE, including hardware setup, data acquisition methods, and post-processing strategies;
  • Explain the biological processes/structures/changes that can influence mechanical tissue properties quantified by MRE; and
  • Discuss the future direction of MRE for clinical applications.

Preliminary Program

Registration & Setup - Wednesday, 25 August 2021

14:00 UTC
16:00 CEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available

Day 1 - Thursday, 26 August 2021 (6.50 CME Available)

05:30 UTC
07:30 CEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available
Breakfast served until 08:50 CEST

06:50 UTC
08:50 CEST

Welcome

Organizing Committee

Session 1: MRE Across Multiple Length Scales

Moderators: Jing Guo, Ph.D. & Ingolf Sack, Ph.D.

07:00 UTC
09:00 CEST

MRE: State of the Art & Current Challenges

Dieter Klatt, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, IL, USA

07:40 UTC
09:40 CEST

Mechanical Cell Matrix Interaction

Paul A. Janmey, Ph.D.
Unviersity of Pennsylvania
Phliadelphia, PA, USA

08:20 UTC
10:20 CEST

Fluidity in Cancer: New Diagnostic Biomarker

Josef A. Käs, Dr. rer. nat.
Universität Leipzig
Leipzig, Germany

09:00 UTC
11:00 CEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available
Poster Viewing (No CME Available)

09:30 UTC
11:30 CEST

MRE in Preclinical Tumour Models

Simon P. Robinson, Ph.D.
The Institute of Cancer Research
Sutton, UK

Proffered Papers - Oral Session

10:10 UTC
12:10 CEST

Abstract 1

T.B.A.

10:30 UTC
12:30 CEST

Abstract 2

T.B.A.

10:50 UTC
12:50 CEST

Abstract 3

T.B.A.

11:10 UTC
13:10 CEST

Lunch & Speaker Upload Available

Session 2: T.B.A.

Moderators: T.B.A.

Proffered Papers - Oral Session

12:40 UTC
14:40 CEST

Abstract 4

T.B.A.

13:00 UTC
15:00 CEST

Abstract 5

T.B.A.

13:20 UTC
15:20 CEST

Abstract 6

T.B.A.

13:40 UTC
15:40 CEST

Abstract 7

T.B.A.

14:00 UTC
16:00 CEST

Abstract 8

T.B.A.

14:20 UTC
16:20 CEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available
Poster Viewing (No CME Available)

Proffered Papers - Oral Session

14:50 UTC
16:50 CEST

Abstract 9

T.B.A.

15:10 UTC
17:10 CEST

Abstract 10

T.B.A.

15:30 UTC
17:30 CEST

Abstract 11

T.B.A.

15:50 UTC
17:50 CEST

Dinner Reception

Day 2 - Friday, 27 August 2021 (5.75 CME Available)

05:30 UTC
07:30 CEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available
Breakfast served until 08:50 CEST

Session 3: MRE: Applications & New Concepts

Moderators: Lynne E. Bilston, Ph.D. & Dieter Klatt, Ph.D.

07:00 UTC
09:00 CEST

Fluid Dynamics in the Brain

Mark E. Wagshul, Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, NY, USA

07:40 UTC
09:40 CEST

Poroelastic Mechanical Properties of the Brain

Keith D. Paulsen, Ph.D.
Dartmouth University
Hanover, NH, USA

08:20 UTC
10:20 CEST

Application of MRE in Brain Diseases

Jens Würfel, M.D.
Medical Image Analysis Center
Basel, Switzerland

09:00 UTC
11:00 CEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available
Poster Viewing  (No CME Available)

09:30 UTC
11:30 CEST

Multiparametric MRI of the Kidney: Where Does MRE Fit In?

Steven P. Sourbron, Ph.D.
University of Sheffield
Sheffield, UK

10:10 UTC
12:10 CEST

Imaging the Elastic Properties of Tissue

Kevin J. Parker, Ph.D.
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY, USA

10:50 UTC
12:50 CEST

Insights & Recent Development of MRE: Relevant for Updating the Current Guidelines?

Armando Manduca, Ph.D.
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Rochester, MN, USA

11:30 UTC
13:30 CEST

Lunch & Speaker Upload Available

Session 4: T.B.A.

Moderators: T.B.A.

Proffered Papers - Oral Session

13:00 UTC
15:00 CEST

Abstract 12

T.B.A.

13:20 UTC
15:20 CEST

Abstract 13

T.B.A.

13:40 UTC
15:40 CEST

Abstract 14

T.B.A.

14:00 UTC
16:00 CEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available
Poster Viewing (No CME Available)

14:30 UTC
16:30 CEST

Panel Discussion on the Future Perspectives of MRE

Session Speakers

15:10 UTC
17:10 CEST

Adjournment

Back Questions? Contact us at info@ismrm.org.

The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.