ISMRM Workshops: Learn, Share Research & Network

ISMRM-PARENCHIMA Workshop on

Kidney MRI Biomarkers: The Route to Clinical Adoption

 

Primary Workshop Location:

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP)
Philadelphia, PA, USA

10-12 September 2021

Call for Abstracts & Stipend Applications
Coming Soon

Workshop Remote Hub:

Champalimaud Foundation
Lisbon, Portugal

10-12 September 2021

Co-Organized by COST, renalmri.org

Organizers

Co-Chairs:
Suraj D. Serai, Ph.D.
Hansel J. Otero, M.D.

Registration & Travel

Registration - Coming Soon
Early Registration Deadline T.B.A.

Travel Information Coming Soon

Supporters & Declarations

Faculty declarations will be available approx. 2 weeks before workshop start.

Overview & Program

Workshop Overview

Quantitative renal MRI has the potential to revolutionize the management of renal disease by enabling the assessment of morphological, microstructural, hemodynamic, and metabolic changes in a single non-invasive exam. This has led to a growing excitement within a highly interdisciplinary community of nephrologists, radiologists, surgeons, physicists, computer scientists, radiographers, pathologists, physiologists, drug developers, and imaging CRO's.

In the past decade, the field of renal MRI has matured significantly as evidence by the series of bi-annual international meetings (renalmri.org/action/16), mounting exposure in the nephrology literature and meetings, an ever-increasing number of larger clinical studies and drug trials with MRI-based endpoints, and regulatory qualification and commercial availability of renal imaging biomarkers.

The ISMRM-PARENCHIMA Workshop on Kidney MRI Biomarkers will extend this trajectory as the fourth international meeting on renal MRI and will focus on mapping out the pathway to clinical adoption of MR biomarkers in renal disease. The symposium is designed to bring together scientists and clinicians from several disciplines in a unique attempt to shape the future of renal functional imaging. It will include an update on clinical trials results and an overview of current barriers for wider dissemination and adoption, and it will provide an outline of cutting-edge novel clinical and pre-clinical renal imaging techniques and their potential impact on clinical management.

The meeting is anticipated to help accelerate the study of these techniques and promote multinational, multi-institutional translational research. The program will feature invited scientific presentations from experts in technical innovation and clinical practice, as well as provide an opportunity for students, trainees, and post-doctoral fellows to showcase their work.

Target Audience: The workshop is designed to attract clinical scientists and clinicians from radiology, nephrology, physiology, and related fields, as well as basic scientists and experts in imaging sciences and physics. It will also provide an opportunity for students, trainees, and post-doctoral fellows to learn about these techniques, network, and showcase their work.

Educational Objectives

Upon completion of this activity, participants should be able to:

  • Describe the potential clinical utility of MRI biomarkers;
  • Describe advancements in clinical biomarker development;
  • Identify opportunities for targeted research and clinical adoption of renal biomarkers;
  • Identify current barriers for widespread dissemination of renal MRI biomarkers;
  • Identify best practices for technique validation and clinical translation; and
  • Recognize the role and challenges of segmentation, analysis, machine learning, and artificial intelligence in renal MR imaging.

Preliminary Program

Registration & Setup - Thursday, 09 September 2021

15:00 UTC
16:00 WEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available (Lisbon)

20:30 UTC
16:00 EDT

Registration & Speaker Upload Available (Philadelphia)

Day 1 - Friday, 10 September 2021

11:30 UTC
07:30 EDT
12:30 WEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available
Coffee & Light Breakfast

Session 1 (USA & Portugal): Kidney Disease & Imaging Biomarkers: Demand & How to Address It

Moderators: Lilach O. Lerman, M.D., Ph.D. & Menno Prujim, M.D., Ph.D.

12:30 UTC
08:30 EDT
13:30 WEST

Renal Physiology in Health & Disease

Fredrik Palm, Ph.D.
Uppsala University
Uppsala, Sweden

13:00 UTC
09:00 EDT
14:00 WEST

Biomarkers & Precision Medicine in Kidney Imaging

Matthias Kretzler, M.D.
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI, USA

13:30 UTC
09:30 EDT
14:30 WEST

Biomarkers in Renal Medicine: The Nephrologist’s Needs

LaTonya J. Hickson, M.D.
Mayo Clinic
Jacksonville, FL, USA

14:00 UTC
10:00 EDT
15:00 WEST

Imaging Organ Interactions: Multimorbidity, Cardiorenal, Hepatorenal

Patrick Mark, M.B.Ch.B., Ph.D.
University of Glasgow
Glasgow, Scotland, UK

14:30 UTC
10:30 EDT
15:30 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

15:00 UTC
11:00 EDT
16:00 WEST

What Can MRI Provide: Function, Structure & Morphology

Nicolas Grenier, M.D.
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Bordeaux
Bordeaux, France

15:30 UTC
11:30 EDT
16:30 WEST

The Future of MRI

Daniel K. Sodickson, M.D., Ph.D.
New York University Langone Health
New York, NY, USA

16:00 UTC
12:00 EDT
17:00 WEST

Kidney Imaging: The NIDDK Perspective

Daniel Gossett, Ph.D.
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Bethesda, MD, USA

16:30 UTC
12:30 EDT
17:30 WEST

Lunch & Speaker Upload Available

Session 2 (USA ONLY): The Path for Renal MRI Research Development & Dissemination: From Idea to Validation

Moderator: Octavia Bane, Ph.D.

18:00 UTC
14:00 EDT
19:00 WEST

New Investigators Workshop: Study Initiation, Data Collection, Quality Control

Eric E. Sigmund, Ph.D.
New York University Langone Health
New York, NY, USA

18:30 UTC
14:30 EDT
19:30 WEST

Quantitative MRI of the Kidney: Rationale & Challenges

Pottumarthi V. Prasad, Ph.D.
Northshore University Health System
Evanston, IL, USA

19:00 UTC
15:00 EDT
20:00 WEST

Gadolinium-Based Functional Imaging: MR Urography

Hansel J. Otero, M.D.
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA, USA

19:30 UTC
15:30 EDT
20:30 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

20:00 UTC
16:00 EDT
21:00 WEST

New Investigators Workshop: How Do I Do It: Pilots, Single Site Study & Respective Funding

T.B.A.

20:30 UTC
16:30 EDT
21:30 WEST

CEST MRI for Monitoring Kidney Disease

Michael T. McMahon, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD, USA

Proffered Papers - Oral Session

20:50 UTC
16:50 EDT
21:50 WEST

Abstract 1

T.B.A.

21:00 UTC
17:00 EDT
22:00 WEST

Abstract 2

T.B.A.

21:10 UTC
17:10 EDT
12:10 WEST

Abstract 3

T.B.A.

21:20 UTC
17:20 EDT
22:20 WEST

Abstract 4

T.B.A.

21:30 UTC
17:30 EDT
22:30 WEST

Cocktail Hour/Meet the Mentors

22:30 UTC
18:30 EDT
23:30 WEST

Adjourn

Day 2 - Saturday, 11 September 2021

11:30 UTC
07:30 EDT
12:30 WEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available

Session 3 (Portugal ONLY): PARENCHIMA-Sponsored Sessions

Moderators: Anna Caroli, Ph.D., Steven Sourbron, Ph.D. & Marcos Wolf, M.D.

08:00 UTC
04:00 EDT
09:00 WEST

Looking Back: Achievements of PARENCHIMA

  • Management Committee report
  • Working Group summaries

T.B.A.

09:15 UTC
05:15 EDT
10:15 WEST

Looking Forward: New Pan-European Collaborations

  • Pitches of project proposals under development
  • Open discussion on each project

T.B.A.

10:30 UTC
06:30 EDT
11:30 WEST

Lunchtime ECR Poster Sessions

  • Power-pitch presentations of ECR
  • Walk-through poster session over lunch

T.B.A.

Session 4 (USA & Portugal): Novel Techniques in Renal MRI: Improving Specificity & Accelerating Impact

Moderators: Alexandra Ljimani, M.D. & Eric E. Sigmund, Ph.D.

12:30 UTC
08:30 EDT
13:30 WEST

Non-Proton MRI Including Sodium, Fluorine & Potassium

Thoralf Niendorf, Ph.D.
Max-Delbrueck Center for Molecular Medicine
Berlin, Germany

13:00 UTC
09:00 EDT
14:00 WEST

Drilling Down to the Single Nephron

Jennifer R. Charlton, M.D.
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA, USA

13:30 UTC
09:30 EDT
14:30 WEST

Molecular MRI for Detection of Fibrosis: Current State

Peter Boor, M.D., Ph.D.
RWTH Aachen University
Aachen, Germany

14:00 UTC
10:00 EDT
15:00 WEST

Frontiers of Kidney MRI: Advanced Variants of DWI, DCE, BOLD, T2

Julia Stabinska, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD, USA

14:30 UTC
10:30 EDT
15:30 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

15:00 UTC
11:00 EDT
16:00 WEST

New MRI Methods for Dynamic Contrast-Enhanced Imaging of the Kidneys

Hersh Chandarana, M.D.
New York University Langone Medical Center
New York, NY, USA

15:30 UTC
11:30 EDT
16:30 WEST

AI/Deep Learning for Kidney Segmentation: Potential Applications & Clinical Impact

Maatje D.A. Van Gastel, Ph.D.
University of Groningen
Groningen, The Netherlands

16:00 UTC
12:00 EDT
17:00 WEST

Motion Management in the Kidney: Direct & AI Tools

Simon Warfield, Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA, USA

16:30 UTC
12:30 EDT
17:30 WEST

Lunch & Speaker Upload Available

Session 5 (USA ONLY): How Do I Do It: Image Post-Processing & Getting Meaningful Numbers

Moderators: Pottumarthi V. Prasad, Ph.D. & Suraj D. Serai, Ph.D.

18:00 UTC
14:00 EDT
19:00 WEST

Multiparametric Post-Processing in Renal MRI: Diffusion, Perfusion, T1, T1Rho Mapping

Sara Lewis, M.D.
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY, USA

18:30 UTC
14:30 EDT
19:30 WEST

Demo of pMRI Post-Processing Toolbox

Dmitry Khrichenko, B.Sc.
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA, USA

19:00 UTC
15:00 EDT
20:00 WEST

Overcoming DCE-MRI Challenges Using FireVoxel Software

Henry Rusinek, Ph.D.
New York University
New York, NY, USA

19:15 UTC
15:15 EDT
20:15 WEST

MR Elastography of the Kidney

Richard L. Ehman, M.D.
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN, USA

19:45 UTC
15:45 EDT
20:45 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

20:15 UTC
16:15 EDT
21:15 WEST

TLCO BOLD MRI

Lu-Ping Li, Ph.D.
University of Chicago
Evanston, IL, USA

20:30 UTC
16:30 EDT
21:30 WEST

Non-Contrast Perfusion Imaging: Kidney ASL

Ananth J. Madhuranthakam, Ph.D.
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX, USA

20:45 UTC
16:45 EDT
21:45 WEST

Kidney MR Fingerprinting

Chris A. Flask, Ph.D.
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH, USA

Proffered Papers - Oral Session

21:00 UTC
17:00 EDT
22:00 WEST

Abstract 5

T.B.A.

21:10 UTC
17:10 EDT
22:10 WEST

Abstract 6

T.B.A.

21:20 UTC
17:20 EDT
22:20 WEST

Abstract 7

T.B.A.

21:30 UTC
17:30 EDT
22:30 WEST

Cocktail Hour & Poster Presentations

22:30 UTC
18:30 EDT
23:30 WEST

Adjourn

Day 3 - Sunday, 12 September 2021

11:30 UTC
07:30 EDT
12:30 WEST

Registration & Speaker Upload Available

Session 6 (Portugal ONLY): Kidney Disease: From the Clinic to MRI & Back

Moderators: T.B.A.

07:30 UTC
03:30 EDT
08:30 WEST

How to Measure GFR with MRI in 2021

Per Eckerbom, M.D., Ph.D.
Uppsala University
Uppsala, Sweden

08:00 UTC
04:00 EDT
09:00 WEST

CKD: Diagnosis & Outcome Prediction with MRI

Sophie de Seigneux, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Geneva
Geneva, Switzerland

08:30 UTC
04:30 EDT
09:30 WEST

ADPKD: Clinical Experiences & Future Directions

Florian Siedek, M.D.
University of Cologne
Köln, Germany

09:00 UTC
05:00 EDT
10:00 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

09:30 UTC
05:30 EDT
10:30 WEST

What Is the Role of MRI Once the Kidneys Have Failed?

Christoph Kopp, M.D.
Friedrich-Alexander-University
Erlangen, Germany

10:00 UTC
6:00 EDT
11:00 WEST

Renal MRI: State-of-the-Art Applications & Future Development: Industry Point of View

Andreas Pohlmann, Ph.D.
Siemens Healthineers
Berlin, Germany

Rolf F. Schulte, Ph.D.
GE Healthcare
Munich, Germany

Matthew Clemence, Ph.D.
Philips Healthcare
Nottingham, UK

10:30 UTC
06:30 EDT
11:30 WEST

Power Pitch Session

Session 7 (USA & Portugal): Kidney Imaging Biomarkers in Clinical Trials: Pathways to Standardization & Regulatory Approval

Moderators: T.B.A.

12:30 UTC
08:30 EDT
13:30 WEST

Kidney MRI in US Clinical Studies (COMBINE, Et al.)

Anand Srivastava, M.D., MPH
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL, USA

13:00 UTC
09:00 EDT
14:00 WEST

Kidney MRI in UK & EU Clinical Studies (AFiRM, iBEAt, Etc.)

Nicholas Selby, M.D.
University of Nottingham
Nottingham, UK

13:30 UTC
09:30 EDT
14:30 WEST

Kidney MRI in Australian Clinical Trials (Australasian Kidney Trials Network [AKTN], University of Queensland, Etc.)

Ruth P. Lim, M.B.B.S., DMedSc, FRANZCR
Austin Health
Heidelberg, VIC, Australia

14:00 UTC
10:00 EDT
15:00 WEST

Kidney MRI Standardization: Challenges & Achievements

Anneloes de Boer, M.Sc.
University Medical Centre Utrecht
Utrecht, The Netherlands

14:30 UTC
10:30 EDT
15:30 WEST

Break & Speaker Upload Available

15:00 UTC
11:00 EDT
16:00 WEST

TKV as a Model for Regulatory Qualification of an Imaging Biomarker

Ronald Perrone, M.D.
Tufts Medical Center
Boston, MA, USA

15:30 UTC
11:30 EDT
16:30 WEST

Kidney MRI in Contract Research Organisations

Iris Friedli, Ph.D.
Antaros Medical
Uppsala, Sweden

16:00 UTC
12:00 EDT
17:00 WEST

Imaging Biomarkers in Drug Development

Alexander J.S. de Crespigny, Ph.D.
Genentech
South San Francisco, CA, USA

Matthew D. Robson, Ph.D.
Perspectum Diagnostics Ltd.
Oxford, UK

16:30 UTC
12:30 EDT
17:30 WEST

Recap/Closing Remarks, Session Summaries (including national/international networks & future outlook for MRI biomarkers in clinical trials & drug development)

Organizing Committee

17:30 UTC
13:30 EDT
18:30 WEST

Adjournment & Boxed Lunches

Back Questions? Contact us at info@ismrm.org.

The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.