February 2016 • Vol.5, Issue 1


SMRT 2016 Election Results
Maureen N. Hood, Ph.D., R.N., R.T.(MR), FSMRT
Chair, Nominations Committee

On behalf of the Nominations Committee, I am happy to announce that for the very first time in SMRT history, we have chosen our first President-elect from Europe. Titti Owman from Sweden will be inducted as the next President–elect in May at the SMRT Annual Meeting in Singapore. Ms. Owman has a wealth of experience working in the field of MR, especially in Europe, but also with organizing international meetings, so I have no doubt she will make an excellent president.

Titti Owman, R.T.(R)(CT)(MR) FSMRT

In further exciting news, this year’s ballot for the election of new Policy Board members was the very first time that we had eight candidates from eight countries. 2016 is also the first time a member from New Zealand has been elected to the Policy Board. This truly shows that the SMRT is an international society. All of the candidates were also highly qualified and it is hoped that those who were not elected this year may be willing to run again in the future. If you are interested in running for Policy Board, please talk to a Policy Board member or a member of the Nominations Committee. The Nominations Committee is pleased to announce our newly elected, in-coming Policy Board members:

Martin Sherriff, B App Sc (MIT), MRT (MR)

Kirsty Campbell, PG Dip HSc MRI

Katrin Koziel, R.T. (R)(CT)(MR)(NukMed)(Radiotherapie)

Dora Grauballe Zeidler, R.T.(MR)Dpl(MR)


Signals is a publication produced four times per calendar year by the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine for the benefit of the SMRT membership and those individuals and organizations that support the educational programs and professional advancement of the SMRT and its members. The newsletter is the compilation of editor, Julie Strandt-Peay, BSM, RT (R)(MR) FSMRT, the leadership of the SMRT and the staff in the ISMRM Central Office with contributions from members and invited participants.